Celia
Status: Still Looking

 

Dear Birthparent…

I am a native Floridian and have lived and traveled all over and decided to settle in Florida. I have a wonderful family who is excited to have a new family member to love. I’m surrounded by a close-knit group of friends who fully support me on this journey and are loving parents themselves. I have always loved children, I work with them for a living, and an illness when I was in college has prevented me from having my own. I worked very hard, saved money and invested and I’m fortunate enough at this point in my life to be able to devote the time and energy to raising a child and be a stay at home Mom.


About Me…

I am a psychiatric nurse practitioner, specializing in pediatrics. I have had a long and fascinating career, which started on the Native American Reservation Lands in AZ and followed me all over the country. I typically work with very poor kids who come from abused backgrounds, many of them are in the foster care system. We try to help them stay in school, find good homes, recover from their trauma, and be safe and healthy. In the past few years I have been asked to work with adults as well, since there is a need to help as addiction becomes more and more widespread. Currently I work with adults who are trying to get clean and sober, get off drugs, find housing, and jobs. I love my job, it has been very rewarding, and at this point after all these years of working in hospitals and clinics, I am able to work part-time from my home, seeing my patients virtually from my laptop. I love my patients and have learned a lot from them over the years. I feel grateful and honored that I can serve my country in this way and help the most vulnerable members of society, and protect them. I would love to bring a child up to appreciate humanitarian values and the importance of compassionate caring for others.

My Home and Pets…

In addition to my home in Florida, which I rent, I own a home in a beautiful little mountain town in Arizona. I bought it many years ago, renovated it, and rent it out. The rental income has helped me to be able to only work part-time. I do all my own landscaping on the almost half an acre yard and visit my friends in the small, cozy town, and take hikes up into the mountains. Most recently, I planted a fruit orchard so my tenants can have peaches, apples, grapes, and berries to eat all summer. I would love to share my love of the mountains and working on the land with a child. Being self sustainable and growing your own food is a true blessing. I also own a condo in Hawaii, only about 20 minutes from some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. I would love to be able to share this beauty with a child and

expose them to the wonderful Hawaiian culture and gentle, generous way of life that I was born into and try to carry on the tradition of, in my daily life. I realize how blessed I am to have two homes and be at a point in my life where I don’t have to struggle financially anymore, which I did for my many years of schooling, and then first building my career.

These are lessons I would love to pass down to a child, that hard work , education, and dedication to helping others as a career, can pay off.

My Family…

We all have strong family values of working in the helping professions. My brother is a surgeon, my mother a retired counselor and teacher, my father works with the military on top secret projects to help find ways to protect our country. We are all close and share a love of nature, protecting the environment, a focus on education, and the arts. I am lucky to have close, life-long friends, some from my childhood and others who work in my profession and are pediatric specialists as well. Most of them have kids and would be excited to welcome a new child into the “family” for play-dates, trips to Disney, the beach, the zoo, parks and museums.

Fun Facts…

Name: Celia Forno

Occupation: Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner

Education: Two bachelors degrees and a masters

Favorite Food: Potatoes

Favorite Hobby: Sewing, swimming

Favorite Movie: The Sound of Music

Favorite Holiday: Easter

Favorite TV Show: Party of Five

Favorite Activity: Gardening

Hidden Talent: Cooking

Guilty Pleasure: Sleeping in