Arizona Adoption Help

Nicole & John
Status: Still Looking

 

Dear Birthparent…

Hello, we are Nicole and John. Thank you for taking a moment to read about us. We respect you and appreciate the challenges you must be dealing with. This is a brief glimpse into our lives and we look forward to getting to know you too.

We were married 13 years ago. We have two children of our own and were unable to have more children. We both agree the thing we enjoy the most is being parents. Our children, Declan and Mia, are extremely excited to have another sibling join our family. We have all dreamed of growing our family for many years.


About Us…

John and I met when we were in elementary school. He had just broken his leg and I was new to the school. It was an easy way to strike up a conversation and make a new friend.  We ended up reconnecting at our high school anniversary and the rest is history. We enjoy the seasons and all the activities associated with them. Some of our favorite activities include hiking, riding bikes, kayaking, and fishing. As a family, we love kicking a soccer ball around, growing vegetables, playing board games and cards, and snuggling on the couch to watch a movie. We enjoy family vacations and trying new foods from different areas. Both John and I enjoy quality time with family and friends. We both have a large family network with multiple siblings on both sides of the family. We feel that our biggest strength is prioritizing our time and our financial resources on “family experiences” versus just accumulating material things. John received both his bachelors and master’s degrees in the Sciences. He currently works at a biotech company that focuses on developing drugs to treat cancer. Nicole has her bachelors in Nursing and works as an Intensive Care Nurse at a local hospital. Nicole loves to travel and has been to all 50 states. John has run 6 marathons and countless half-marathons. We both enjoy meeting new people and we feel that we have a unique ability to find a common thread in each interaction.

Our Home and Pets…

We live in a suburb and travel a short distance to work. We chose the town and house that we live in because of the sense of community. There are lots of children of all ages in our neighborhood and we have a park around the corner. Our little dog Gracie has been a part of our family for 14 years. I surprised John one night with our poodle. It took a while to find a collar that fit her because she initially weighed less than a pound. John loves to tell the story of when he was first taking her out for a walk and someone drove by and asked “are you walking a hamster??”, which he replied “my fiancé told me she was a dog…”.

Our Family…

We cherish our children and love being their parents. We both have large families. When the extended families are together we are not a quiet group. We love eating big meals that last for hours and then sit around a table playing games. The kids are all close and range in age from 2 years of age to 18 years and love playing together. Our immediate families do live a few states away and we have grown quite close to our local friends. We count on each other for the big as well as little things. Our family and friends are just as excited about our adoption journey as we are. They will welcome a new child with open arms. Everyone looks forward to the growth of our family and adding to holiday celebrations and giant sleepovers.

Our Journey to Adoption…

We have two biological children and always had the plan to grow our family. We tried fertility treatments with no success for over 4 years. After many failed attempts and a few miscarriages, we decided to stop. We had spoken many times about how difficult it was to not grow our family biologically, but still felt as if we were meant to have another child. It was an obvious choice after speaking to multiple friends and a family member that have adopted. They introduced us to the process and we truly look forward to the journey.

Fun Facts…

Name: John

Occupation: Executive at a Biotech Company

Education: Bachelor and Masters of Science

Favorite Food: Homemade lasagna (his family’s recipe passed down from generation to generation)

Favorite Hobby: Exercise and playing with kids

Favorite Movie: Braveheart

Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving

Favorite TV Show: The Curse of Oak Island

Favorite Activity: Exercising and spending time with family and friends

Hidden Talent: Making his own homemade pickles

Guilty Pleasure: Pizza of any type!

 

Name: Nicole

Occupation: Intensive Care Nurse

Education: Bachelor in Nursing

Favorite Food: Vanilla ice cream with peanut butter

Favorite Hobby: Reading, gardening, and cycling

Favorite Movie: Sound of Music

Favorite Holiday: Christmas

Favorite TV Show: This is Us

Favorite Activity: Exercise and playing with kids

Hidden Talent: Singing

Guilty Pleasure: Oreo cookies


Close Menu