Arizona Adoption Help

Karen & Shawn
Status: Still Looking

 

Dear Birthparent…

Hi!  Thank you for taking the time to read about us.  You are so courageous in taking this step and we can’t imagine how difficult it must be.  We know that the decision you’re making is out of pure love for your unborn child.  We will love the child we’re lucky enough to parent with every piece of our hearts and will always be very open with him or her about their birth parents and the amazing love you’ve shown them through this selfless act.  We are a goofy couple that loves to laugh and most importantly, we love each other more than words could ever say.  We have loving families, a beautiful home in a great town and we own our own business.  This gives us the flexibility to make our own hours and be home as much as possible with a child.  It’s hard to sum up who we are in a few paragraphs, but we hope to give you an idea. We wish you happiness in life, now and always.


About Us…

We met in 2009 on the internet.  We got along really well right off the bat because we have the same silly sense of humor. We’re complete opposites in a lot of ways, but we balance each other out.  We moved in together after only 5 months and were married 2 ½ years later. We’ve spent the last several years building a business together and it has only strengthened our bond.  Because we work together, we’re with each other nearly 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  People always say they don’t know how we do it, but we truly love each other and couldn’t imagine it any other way.  Karen grew up in a loving family in the best neighborhood any child could ask for. She attended public schools and worked in offices doing general administrative work after high school.  After meeting Shawn, she got a job at the restaurant where he worked.  Shawn also grew up in a loving home with 4 beautiful acres of land on the river in a house that his dad built over the course of 4 or 5 years.  He attended public schools as well and since high school graduation has always worked in restaurants.  We opened our own restaurant together in 2011 and have been going ever since!

Our Home and Pets…

We purchased our home in late April of 2017.  It was what we had been working for for 6 years and we finally did it!  We have a 4 bedroom house with a farmer’s porch, a pool and 3.5 acres of land.  We have a small pond in our front yard.  The town we live in is just beautiful.  I just happened to look out my window as I’m writing this and saw 2 people riding horses down our street.  We lie in bed at night all the time and say “I still can’t believe we live here. I’ll never get used to it.”  We are truly lucky and will never take what we have for granted.  We are surrounded by nature, but also only about 10 minutes from shopping, movie theatres and restaurants.  Our town has lots of farms, ponds, a petting zoo that has sleigh rides with Santa and his reindeer in the winter, a small water park, zip lining and so many fun activities for children.  There is a huge fair every fall in the next town over that we each went to with our parents every year as children.  We live in one of the best school districts in the state, which is one of the biggest reasons we chose the town we live in.  We have a 10 year old dog who is just so sweet.  She loves people and loves being loved.  We also have cats who are big cuddle bugs and we love them with all our hearts.

Our Family…

Karen’s parents are loving and kind.  They are so excited for her to be a mother.  Karen’s mom is a gentle and sensitive person.  She is a caretaker and has wanted to be a grandmother for a very long time.   Her dad is a goofball; always trying to be funny in that nerdy, embarrassing dad kind of way.  He always makes her laugh.  She also has 2 brothers, one younger and one older.  She feels like she really helped raise her younger brother, being as he is 7 years younger than her and she’s always been a natural caretaker.  He is her best friend forever and always.  Her brothers can’t wait to be uncles.  Karen has a 92 year old grandmother who is a sweet, adorable little lady.  She had a very big influence on Karen’s life growing up as she was a self-made and strong woman.  Shawn’s parents are wonderful.  His mother is very outgoing and loves everybody.  We always say she’s never met a bad person.  She finds the good in everyone.  Shawn’s dad is the hardest working man either of us have ever met. He always has a project he’s working on. As we said earlier, he built his house with his own 2 hands.  He’s a generous and loving man and quite a character.   He is the person that shaped Shawn into the man he is today and we can’t wait to see what adventures he’ll take his grandchild on.  They are both so excited to be grandparents and any child would be lucky to have them.  Shawn also has 2 brothers, one older and one younger.  We both have aunts, uncles, cousins and lots of other extended family that we spend as much time with as possible.

Our Journey to Adoption…

We have both always wanted children and have talked about it since very early on after we started dating. We also decided that we wanted to own our own home before we had a child.  Unfortunately, that took longer than we expected as we spent so many years building our business and making it successful enough to be able to afford a house. Valuable years got away from us.  We started trying to have a baby a few months before we bought our house and tried for a year and a half, suffering a miscarriage along the way.  As we were both getting older, we decided that the best course of action for us was adoption.  We couldn’t bear the thought of never being parents and we didn’t want to risk more miscarriages or years of trying with no results.  We want nothing more in this world than to be parents and have so much love to give.  Adoption is the right choice for us.

Fun Facts…

Name:  Karen

Occupation: Restaurant Owner

Education: High School

Favorite Food: Chicken Fajitas with lots of sour cream

Favorite Hobby: Playing the piano

Favorite Movie: Under the Tuscan Sun

Favorite Holiday: Christmas

Favorite TV Show: Once Upon a Time

Favorite Activity: Gardening and mowing the lawn

Hidden Talent: Cooking (especially soup)

Guilty Pleasure:  I love boy bands, particularly ‘N Sync and the Backstreet Boys

 

Name: Shawn

Occupation: Restaurant Owner

Education: High School

Favorite Food: Pepperoni and Feta Cheese Pizza

Favorite Hobby: Writing (I wrote a book a few years back and also do sports writing)

Favorite Movie: Braveheart

Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving

Favorite TV Show: Game of Thrones

Favorite Activity: Mixed Martial Arts

Hidden Talent: Singing

Guilty Pleasure: Starbucks Violet Drink


Close Menu