Arizona Adoption Help

Lisa & Stewart
Status: Adopted

 

Dear Birthparent…

Dear Expectant Parents,

Thank you so much for giving us this opportunity to introduce ourselves and tell you about us. Our names are Stewart and Lisa. Our son is Lucas. We are deeply moved by your decision to explore an adoption plan for your child. We don’t know all the challenges you face but hope that learning more about us will help you face them with courage and confidence.

 

We hope our profile answers some of your questions and provides you with comfort as you take this journey. We genuinely want the very best for you and your child. Our son Lucas was adopted two years ago and has been a daily blessing. We are thankful to his birthparents for making the decision to trust us with him.

 

Warmly,

Lisa and Stewart


About Us…

We met while visiting Atlanta in 2004 and have been together ever since. We were engaged after two years and began planning our wedding. We decided to have a destination wedding and were married in Costa Rica and honeymooned in Greece. We were married in a garden overlooking the ocean on a cloudy day, but even the rain showers did not get us down.

In 2016 we adopted Lucas. He has been the light of our lives and could not imagine our lives without him. We love spending time with our families. Our friends and family members have children ranging from new-born through 22 years old. We are avid college football fans and attend games on a regular basis. We use this opportunity to meet with college friends and their children. We also enjoy going to beach. We are happiest when we are together, with people we love, eating, spending time together, and having fun.

We enjoy traveling and have been to Italy, Washington DC, New York, Boston, Bahamas, St. Lucia, and many times to Lisa’s favorite place, Disney World. Lucas has joined our adventures and has been to Spain, Key West, Sarasota, Tampa, New Jersey, and Disney World.

We are both attorneys and have our own practices which allows us the flexibility to be there for Lucas when he is sick or simply to take off for the weekend. Lisa spends most days working from her home office which is 5 minutes from Lucas’ preschool and Stewart works 15 minutes away.

Our Home and Pets…

We live in a condo on the first floor that has a garden and a fenced in pool. The complex is small and there are about 10 children who live there. We have a pool and grassy areas to play. We are a 15-minute drive to the beach and love to go in the summers.

 

We enjoy eating our meals together in our dining room or walking around outside with Lucas. Our little city is very green and has many parks. We live walking distance to a large park with two playgrounds, a swimming complex, baseball, soccer, football fields as well as tennis courts and a skateboarding complex. Lucas enjoys our walks to the park.

 

In our house we try to speak on Spanish to Lucas. He is fully bilingual as he is learning English in preschool and Spanish at home. His birthmother is Mexican American, and it was important to her that he learn Spanish. We promised her we would teach him Spanish and keep that promise every single day.

 

We have a black pug, Stella, who is a 12-year-old rescue. She has always been wonderful with children and that has been especially true with Lucas. They are the best of friends.

Our Family…

We have a large extended family. Lisa has 3 nephews ages 9, 5, and 4 as well as many young cousins ranging from newborn through 22 years old. Stewart has a 15 year old niece and a 9 year old nephew as well as many cousins. Most of our families live within a 30 minute drive of our house. We spend our weekends with our extended families at birthday parties, Christenings, or simply a casual bar-b-que.

Our Journey to Adoption…

We attempted to have a biological baby approximately 4 years ago, but when Lisa was not getting pregnant we began running some initial tests. Once Lisa’s OBGYN said it was time to decide if we wanted to undergo infertility treatments we immediately decided no. We knew we wanted to be parents. We knew in our hearts we were meant to be parents, but neither one of us felt that our child needed to be a biological child. We both had nieces and nephews that we loved as if they were our own. We both knew that family is not only made by blood but by love as well. So we began our first adoption journey. We were matched with Lucas the day he was born. We meant him in the hospital and immediately fell in love. That was 2 years ago. We always knew that we wanted to have more then one child. Stewart has a sister and Lisa has 2 brothers and 1 sister. We want Lucas to enjoy a sibling.

Fun Facts…

Name: Lisa

Occupation: Attorney

Education: JD

Favorite Food: Chocolate ice cream

Favorite Hobby: Boating

Favorite Movie: Mary Poppins

Favorite Holiday: Christmas!

Favorite TV Show: Billionaire

Favorite Activity: Spending time with the family

Hidden Talent: Horseback riding

Guilty Pleasure: The show Bridezillas

 

Name: Stewart

Occupation: Attorney

Education: JD

Favorite Food: Cuban

Favorite Hobby: Football

Favorite Movie: Goodfellas

Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving

Favorite TV Show: Law and Order

Favorite Activity: Spending time with Lisa and Lucas

Hidden Talent: Drums

Guilty Pleasure: Sleeping


Close Menu